Falcon booters draw Ateneo in S86 football opener

Date Posted: February 21, 2024 at 01:59 PM

Photo: UAAP Media Team

Adamson’s Falcon booters kicked off their UAAP 86 campaign with a hard-fought draw against last year’s runners-up, Ateneo de Manila University, 1-1, this February 18 at the UP Diliman Football Stadium in Quezon City. 

The Ang Liga champions proved that their title-winning campaign was for real, dominating large stretches of the game. 

The San Marcelino-based squad, though, were unable to secure a victory as Ateneo's Kofi Agyei struck late to lift his team to one point in the beginning of their campaign.  

The 6-foot-4 Ghanaian forward proved to be a thorn in Adamson's side, capitalizing on a scoring opportunity in the 90th minute to deny the Falcons a triumphant start to the season. 

Adamson's initial breakthrough came just before halftime, courtesy of Ilonggo striker Lorent Jayaon, whose strike from outside the box beat the Ateneo goalkeeper, Artuz Cezar, sending the Falcons into the break with the lead. 

Midfielders Roque Empleo, Jr. and Mark Christian Ricario orchestrated promising attacks for Adamson, but their efforts were thwarted by a resilient Ateneo defense. 

Reflecting on the game, new Adamson head coach Darlton Digha expressed disappointment in the team's inability to convert their scoring opportunities into goals. 

He, however, remained optimistic about the team's prospects moving forward, emphasizing the need to learn from the experience and refine their approach in future matches. 

"It's a football game... You must take care of your chances because you also make mistakes. I think we wasted a lot of chances today and I think we should have done better,” he said.  

“It's a game of chances, and Ateneo took care of its chances." 

Adamson gears up to face University of Santo Tomas in their next fixture, determined to bounce back from their draw and showcase their prowess on the field this February 22 at the same venue. 


Adamson XI: Nalog (GK), Buenaobra (C), Jayaon, Jose, Arañas, Empleo Jr, Napili, Francisco, Casing, Banagodos, Coquilla. 

Ateneo XI: Cezar (GK), Salud, Dela Cruz, Agyei, Maquiling, J Lopez (C), W Lopez, Abaa, Escobin, Bautista, Uy