AUAAI, OIA host 87th Alumni Homecoming; recognizes new batch of outstanding alumni

Date Posted: February 21, 2024 at 01:58 PM

The ST Quadrangle came alive with the spirit of camaraderie and nostalgia as Adamson University welcomed back its cherished alumni for the 87th Grand Alumni Homecoming held February 17. 

The event, organized by the Adamson University Alumni Association, Inc. (AUAAI) in partnership with the Office for Institutional Advancement (OIA), celebrated the shared memories, accomplishments, and the enduring bond between Alma mater and her graduates. 

University President Fr Daniel Franklin Pilario, CM, welcomed the attendees back to the institution that shaped their lives and fostered lifelong connections. AUAAI Vice President – External Gen. Lina Sarmiento also acknowledged the alumni present in the event.  

The ambiance of the evening was accentuated by a vibrant 50's theme, transporting attendees to a nostalgic era of retro charm and timeless elegance.  

AUAAI Officers, under the leadership of Engr. Ibrahim "Bong" Nuno, played a pivotal role in ensuring the event's success, orchestrating a memorable gathering for each attending batch. 

The first part of the program concluded with reports from the AUAAI President, Engr. Nuno and the Treasurer Ar. Jean Cornejo, who presented updates regarding the group’s projects and statement of funds. 

AUAAI scholars were also recognized, along with the awarding of Jubilarians, newly inducted alumni chapters and the chapter with most attendees during the event. 

A new set of officers and board of directors were also introduced before outgoing Vice President – Internal Engr. Gilbert Cruz delivered the closing remarks: 

President: Engr. Ibrahim Nuno 

VP –Internal: Engr. Gilbert Cruz 

VP – External: MGen. Lina Sarmiento 

Secretary: Ar. Anne Paraon 

Treasurer: Ar. Jean Cornejo 

Asst. Treasurer: Engr. Elise Arriola 

Auditor: Engr. Rey Sagum 

Public Relations Officer: Mr. Edward Bustillos 

Spokesperson: Ms. Ma. Cristina Stohner - Tan 

Board Members: 

Engr. Jun Villanueva 

Engr. Erwin Mendoza 

Engr. Ricky Araneta 

Mr. Don Lerit, Jr. 

Engr. Mildred Angeles 

Engr. Jojo Bacarro 

Outstanding Alumni recognized 

Central to the activities held throughout the day was the recognition of outstanding alumni, as well, held in the afternoon at the University Theater.  

Engr. Nuno delivered the opening remarks, followed by a congratulatory message from Fr. Pilario to the awardees. 

Each honoree epitomized the university's values of excellence, integrity, and service to society. These awardees are: 

Most Outstanding Alumni 2024 

Dr. Mariano Yupitun 

Science, Technology, Research and Academe 

Dr. Allan Ruales, MD  

Mr. Jose Santos Carandang VI, PhD 

Ar. Mark Lester Valignota 

Ms. Eden Rose Dingal 

Ar. Rey Anthony Castillo 

Environmental Conservation and Sustainable Development 

Engr. Rose Marie Mendoza, PhD 

Engr. Teresita Balba 

Entrepreneurship and Employment Creation 

Mr. James Jojo Cayabyab 

Engr. Joseph Rodas 

Engr. Elmer Balisacan 

Public Service and Governance 

Capt. Edwin Ello 

Mayor Nicolas Yulo 

Atty. Jose Roland Moya 

Poverty Alleviation and Human Development 

Mr. Jesus Felipe, Jr. 

Sports, Culture and Arts 

Mr. Sherwin Meneses 

This year’s Most Outstanding Alumni, Dr. Mariano Yupitun then gave a short message in place of his fellow awardees before certificates of appreciation were awarded and the event proceeded to the homecoming proper. 

Amid heartfelt reunions and fond reminiscences, the event stood as a testament to the University's enduring legacy ingrained to and shared by generations of Klasmeyts. 

The event ushered in a renewed sense of Adamsonian pride and a common commitment to uphold its esteemed traditions, ensuring that the spirit of Adamson University continues to inspire and empower future generations of alumni.