Falcon Booters secures first-ever title after conquering Ang Liga Season 19

Date Posted: November 7, 2023 at 02:32 PM

The Falcon Booters made history in the pitch as they claim their first ever football crown, winning the Ang Liga Season 19 Division 1 Football League title last November 4 at the University of the Philippines Football Field in Diliman, Quezon City. 

Adamson, backed by offshore Information Technology firm Philtech, secured their championship after scoring a 2-0 victory over UAAP 85 finalists Ateneo de Manila University. 

Lorent Jayaon carried the load for the San Marcelino-based team, scoring both of his team’s goals in extra time. 

Jayaon opened the scoring when Ateneo defenders failed to clear a cross into the Adamson box in the 48th minute. 

He then punched the final blow for the Falcons in the 100th minute as he seized a momentary lull in the Ateneo defense and scored off a rebound. 

With the win, the Falcons soared to their first ever Ang Liga title since joining the league.  

In addition, four Adamsonians also received awards, with Andrew Nalog receiving the Golden Glove for being the tournament’s top goalkeeper and Arjay Buenaobra being hailed as the Best Defender. 

Coach Darlton Digha, a former Soaring Falcon himself, was recognized as Best Coach. 

Dexter Jhon Casing and Roque Empleo, along with Buenaobra and Nalog, meanwhile, were included in the Ang Liga Team of the Tournament.