Boys Basketball Team bags 11th consecutive victory, closes in on tournament top spot

Date Posted: February 27, 2023 at 02:39 PM

The Baby Falcons are on their way to their best performance in recent years as they secure another victory that solidified their hold of the top spot in the UAAP 85 Boys Basketball Tournament. 

Adamson upped their slate to an 11-1 card as they survived a horrendous shooting clip from beyond the arc and disposed De La Salle – Zobel, 66-52, February 22 at the Filoil Ecooil Centre in San Juan. 

Head Coach Mike Fermin revealed that despite their momentum, his team remained wary of the upset-seeking Junior Archers who are aiming to halt their three-game slump. 
"Going into this game, we are trying to limit the scoring of the opponent to under 50. This game, ‘yun ang goal namin," he said, also lauding their foes’ performance.  
"Hats off to Zobel dahil ang ganda ng gameplan at execution nila. They shot well and played good defense. Sabi ko nung halftime, we just had to toughen up.” 

The Baby Falcons only held a slim lead in the middle of the final canto, 54-48, but Zobel failed to capitalize on AdU’s shooting slump and were eventually closed out with an 8-0 run.  

Despite the victory, starting guard Peter Rosillo remains focused on improving his and the team’s performance come their next outings. 

"Bad game. Nanalo lang siguro kami dahil sa turnovers nila e," he said. The Surigao native led the team from San Marcelino with 18 points, five rebounds and three assists. 

Edding, meanwhile, posted 14 markers, eight boards, and five steals while Reyes added a 12-11 point-rebound double-double.  

Adamson will face Ateneo de Manila University on February 25 before they finish the eliminations against University of Santo Tomas on March 1. 

Quarter Scores: 10-13, 29-26, 49-40, 66-52. 

AdU 66 - Rosillo 18, Edding 14, Reyes 12, Bonzalida 9, Carillo 6, Medina 3, Sajili 2, Culdora 2, Abayon 0, Mepana 0, Perez 0. 
DLSZ 52 - Melencio 21, Alas 10, Dimaano 8, Chang 6, Espina 4, Pabellano 2, John 0, Legaspi 0, Cruz 0, Dimalanta 0, Dionisio 0, Sta. Mario 0.