A different twist for the 2018 Adamson Media Award

Date Posted: February 6, 2018 at 08:28 AM

The eighth year of the annual Adamson University Media Award is shifting its focus from broadcast media practitioners to those whose talents and energy are dedicated to crafting films – the directors themselves.  But this opening of doors to a different field of communication, however, does not change the nature of the content being searched by the Award – poverty alleviation.

In an interview with Communication Department chairperson Ms. Ailene Ayson, she said that for the past seven years, the Media Award had been giving focus on the broadcasting field of mass communication. Given that the year 2017 was the “Year of Film” as it came up with critically and commercially acclaimed films, especially the “indie” or independent ventures, the Communication Department chose to make the 2018 Media Award edition as an opportunity to recognize the talents in this industry. 

Recognizing that films play a big role in influencing its audience, particularly the youth, the Communication Department chose the directors whose works’ contents are aligned with poverty alleviation, promotion of the importance of education, and somehow embodying the spirit of St. Vincent de Paul.

From a large pool of great film directors, the Communication Department faculty chose four award-winning and internationally acclaimed ones. They are Lav Diaz, director of Ang Babaeng Humayo (starring John Lloyd Cruz and Charo Santos, and Hele sa Hiwagang Hapis); Brillante Mendoza, director of Ma’ Rosa (starring 62nd Cannes Film Festival Best Actress Jaclyn Jose) and Thy Womb (starring Nora Aunor); Eduardo Roy, Jr., director of Pamilya Ordinaryo; and Ralston Jover, director of Hamog. This is also the first time that only four personalities were nominated.  

The voting period started last January 31, 2018 and will end today, February 6. The date of the awarding ceremony will be announced soon.