AdU Communication students dominate PodCon 5

Date Posted: July 13, 2017 at 04:33 PM

PodCon 5 winners during the presidential courtesy call last June 23

Communication students from Adamson University showed their dominance in the fifth Podcast Convention held at the Thomas Aquinas Research Complex on March 24.

Adamson students bagged six out of the 11 awards given in the convention including first place in the Radio Documentary category for their entry “Teresa.” Another one of their entry, “Bata, Bata, May Karapatan Ka,” won the Fan Favorite Award for the same category. For the Radio Disc Jockey category, “Radical Duo” bagged the first place, while another Adamsonian entry, “The Millennials,” grabbed the Fan Favorite Award. “Isla Atilas,” on the other hand, won Third Place and Fan Favorite Award for the Radio Drama Category.

The Adamsonian students who were part of the winning team are:

Teresa: Allen Agapay, Davidson Estrella, Alisa Lachica, Vija Trisha Manansala, Adrifer Migullas, Shaina Monticalbo, and Rainier Shannon Posadas;

Isla Atilas: Janela Casis, Angelica De Castro, Angela Estacio, Ana Patricia Frias, Ghenrie Mariz Lazaga, Ma. Criselda Mamauag, Mary Chris Molina, Mary Ann Santos, and Ernelyn Sida;

Bata, Bata, May Karapatan Ka: Noemi Joanne Bachar, Francis Alfonso Baña, Angelica Joyce Basco, Michael Frank Cotelo, Graciella Mae Dichoso, Aroma Beatrix Evangelista, Marie Eleonor Angelika Flores, Paula Mea QuilongQuilong, and Lira Shane Ronquillo;

The Radical Duo: Michael Angelo Fesalbon and Marielle Andrea Lacuesta;

The Millennials: Coleen Sheikha Fabro and Rosseth Paliza

The PodCon’s theme “21st Century Trends” showcased the youth’s capability in producing quality contents that could change and shape society. Entries in the contest were required to tackle the issue of human rights in the country.

 The Podcast Convention was attended by students from Adamson University, Bicol University, Bulacan State University, De la Salle University, Emilio Aguinaldo College, Polytechnic University of the Philippines, Ateneo de Naga, and Miriam College. The convention was organized by the University of Santo Tomas in partnership with the Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster sa Pilipinas.