November 2015

October 2015

September 2015

August 2015

July 2015

June 2015

May 2015

April 2015

March 2015

February 2015

January 2015

Year 2014

Year 2013

Year 2012

Year 2011

Academic Calendar

November 5 to January 18

Application for March Graduation

November 30

Bonifacio Day

December 14 to 19


December 21

Christmas Vacation Begins

December 25

Christmas Day

View All

News - May 2010

AdU Computer Engineering wins Engbensyon 2010

Date Posted: May 21, 2010 at 02:51:23 AM

The Adamson University Computer Engineering Department added another feather to its cap after winning the Best Design Project in the first ever Engbensyon Interschool Computer Engineering Project Design Exhibition held last March 24 and 25 at the Nido Fortified Science Discovery Center in SM City Mall of Asia.


AdU’s entry, the six-legged loader robot known as “The Hexabot” made heads turn and earned praises in the two-day event sponsored by the Institute of Computer Engineers of the Philippines (ICpEP).


Edging out nine other competing schools to conquer the contest was a magnificent experience for CpE students Michael Aquino, Geronimo Cervantes, Richard Elvambuena, Niño Christopher Fernandez and Gilbert Noel Maligaya who, together with their faculty co-researchers Engr. Jay-Ar Lalata and Engr. Joselito Eduard Goh, were the brains behind the innovative project.


The Hexabot is capable of carrying weights up to 100kg. It is controlled by a joystick with the option of running it manually or in automatic mode. The robot is also equipped with an obstacle avoidance feature that changes the robot’s direction when the sensor is blocked if the Hexabot is running in automatic mode.


With The Hexabot thrashing the rest of the competition, another CpE ingenious design called the “Robo Saint Vincent de Paul” stunned audiences when the talking replica of the University’s patron saint graced the event with an opening prayer. Robo SVP further impressed people when it did some announcements during the event. The project was designed by another team of CpE students who also competed in the event. They were Joel Perez, Bryan James Acosta, Mark Cezar Masangkay, Chrisler Medua, and Reynald Reyes. Engr. Lalata was their faculty co-researcher. Jan Allen Puertollano